An Al-Chet for Risk Managers:

From James McCallum

I was not strong enough to stand up to my boss

I put selfish gain ahead of ethical considerations

I falsified or hid data to conceal results

I failed to be objective

My risk model was too subjective

I ignored warning signs

I was in over my head

I did not understand all the risk factors

I failed to get an outside opinion

I was beholden to monetary gain

I was victim to group think

I placed institutional interest before ethical considerations

I failed to admit I was wrong

I was not honest with regulators

I was not honest with shareholders

I looked the other way

I failed to act

I conveniently overlooked infractions

I turned a blind eye to irregularities

I made exemptions

I did not understand the depth of the problem

I know there are many more.

Please help me to uncover, understand, make right and overcome.

Shalom

From

Audit, Risk & Controls Community Blog

Explore posts in the same categories: Disclosure, Enterprise Risk Management, ERM, Execution Risk, Financial Crisis, Operational Risk, People Risk, Risk, Risk Culture, Risk Management

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “An Al-Chet for Risk Managers:”


  1. […] An Al-Chet for Risk Managers (October 2009) Gives a litany of common shortcomings of risk managers as we are all human. […]


Leave a Reply

